Skip to content

Free Express Shipping on orders £500!

Best Folding Mobility Scooters: We Reviewed 5

The best folding mobility scooter is the one whose heaviest lift your household can manage, whose folded size fits your actual car boot opening, and whose top speed is limited to 4mph for pavement use. Headline range and speed matter far less than those three checks.

Of the four Welzo folding scooters we compared, the FreeFold X is the lightest four-wheel option at a stated 16kg and offers a two-battery pack that suits flying; the X05 folding scooter (sold as the "MyMobility" and "Premium Lightweight") is the only one with an automatic fold option and the lowest price, but it is the heaviest at 24kg with its battery; the SwiftFold has the smallest stated folded size and a stated 4mph limit; and the Easyfold has the largest wheels. None is right for everyone, and several product pages contain conflicting figures that we point out below.

Our picks at a glance

Prices checked 23 September 2026 on welzo.com. The first figure applies if you make a VAT relief declaration; the second is the standard price including VAT.

Scooter Best for Price Key point Main drawback
Welzo FreeFold X Lightest four-wheel fold; flying From £899.99 / £1,079.98 16kg; optional second battery 8km/h stated top speed; warranty stated two ways
X05 (MyMobility) Automatic folding on a budget From £699.99 / £839.98 Push-button fold option; removable 2kg battery 24kg with battery; pages disagree on specs
Welzo SwiftFold Smallest fold; stated 4mph £829.99 / £995.98 Folds to 30 × 50 × 74cm Small solid tyres; image concerns (see notes)
Welzo Easyfold Larger wheels £799.99 / £959.98 9-inch tyres front and rear Folded size not stated; tyre type stated inconsistently

What makes a folding scooter different

A folding mobility scooter collapses into a single piece, usually in a few seconds, so it can go into a car boot, a hallway cupboard or an aircraft hold without being taken apart. That is its whole advantage over a dismantling "boot scooter", which separates into several lighter pieces, and over a mid-size pavement scooter, which does neither.

The trade-off is that a folded scooter is one rigid block. You lift it in one go (or two, if the battery comes out), and it has to fit through your boot opening in one shape. That is why the checks in this guide focus on the heaviest lift and the folded dimensions rather than on top speed or headline range.

Folding scooters also come in two types. Manual folders collapse by hand using a lever or latch. Automatic folders fold themselves at the press of a button or a remote. We compare the two in detail further down.

How we chose these scooters

This guide is desk research. We did not physically test, ride, fold or lift these scooters, and we have not used customer reviews to rank them. Independent hands-on tests, where they exist, are the best evidence of how a scooter rides and folds. What desk research can do well is check whether the published numbers are complete, consistent and legal, which is where many folding scooter listings fall down.

We read each live product page, took specifications from the manufacturer's own tables, and compared them on:

  • stated weight, whether it includes the battery, and the battery's own weight
  • folded dimensions, and whether the page gives a folded size at all or only a packaging size
  • fold type (manual or automatic)
  • stated top speed against the UK 4mph pavement limit
  • maximum user weight
  • battery size in watt-hours, which matters for flying
  • unfolded dimensions against bus permit size limits
  • tyres and ground clearance
  • price with and without VAT relief, stated warranty and returns window

Where a page contradicts itself, or two listings for the same scooter disagree, we say so rather than picking the more flattering figure. Where a figure isn't published, our tables say "Not stated".

The nine checks that separate good folding scooters from frustrating ones

Check Why it matters What to ask
Weight with battery fitted Many listings quote the frame weight only "Is that figure with or without the battery?"
Heaviest single lift If the battery comes out, the frame alone is the heaviest lift "Does the battery come out without tools, and what does it weigh?"
Folded dimensions Decides whether it fits your boot opening at all Folded length, width and height in cm, not the box size
Wheels when folded Being able to wheel it like a trolley matters in car parks, stations and airports "Can it be pulled along on its wheels once folded?"
Top speed and legal class Pavement scooters must not exceed 4mph "Which class is it, and is it limited to 4mph?"
Maximum user weight Often lower on folding models than on mid-size scooters The published limit for that exact model and version
Battery watt-hours Airlines assess this, not the folding mechanism The Wh figure printed on the battery
Ground clearance and tyres Small wheels struggle with kerbs and broken paving Clearance in mm and the maximum kerb height allowed
Warranty on the folding mechanism The hinge, latch or motor is the part that works hardest Cover for frame, battery and folding mechanism separately, in writing

Comparison tables

Weight and lifting

Scooter Stated weight Includes battery? Battery weight Likely heaviest lift* Max user weight
FreeFold X 16kg Not stated Not stated Up to 16kg (unclear) 120kg (100kg on MSS listing)
X05 (MyMobility / Premium Lightweight) 24kg Yes 2kg (MSS listing) About 22kg 120kg
SwiftFold 16kg frame No 2kg About 16kg 120kg
Easyfold 18.6kg No Not stated 18.6kg or more 120kg

*Our estimate from the published figures, assuming the battery is removed before lifting where the page says it is removable.

Folded size and fold type

Scooter Fold type Stated folded size Approx. folded volume
SwiftFold Manual 30 × 50 × 74cm About 111 litres
X05 Manual or automatic (two versions) 37 × 48 × 70cm (Premium Lightweight / MSS listing); 77 × 57 × 52cm (MyMobility page) About 124 litres, or 228 litres on the MyMobility figures
FreeFold X Manual quick-fold Not stated (box: 35 × 53 × 76cm) Not stated
Easyfold Manual quick-fold Not stated Not stated

Folded volume is our calculation (length × width × height) to make sizes easier to compare. It is not a substitute for checking each dimension against your boot opening. A packaging size is the box the scooter is delivered in, not the scooter itself.

Speed, range and battery

Scooter Stated top speed Stated range Battery Watt-hours (our calculation) Tyres
FreeFold X 8km/h (about 5mph) 20–30km 24V 6.6Ah; optional second battery About 158Wh each Not stated
X05 0–6km/h (about 3.7mph); one page states 0–15km/h 10–15km; one page states up to 25km 24V 10Ah, removable About 240Wh 197mm (about 7.75in) solid; one page states 10in front / 8in rear
SwiftFold 4mph 10 miles 24V 10.4Ah About 250Wh 7in front / 8in rear solid
Easyfold 1–8km/h 18–25km 24V 6.6Ah About 158Wh 9in; type stated inconsistently

Watt-hours are calculated as volts × amp-hours from each product page; for example, 24V × 6.6Ah = 158.4Wh. The rating printed on the battery is what an airline will check. Range figures are manufacturer claims, usually measured in favourable conditions; treat the lower end as a realistic maximum round trip.

Bus permit size check

Many bus operators follow the Confederation of Passenger Transport (CPT) code. Under the version used by Merseytravel, for example, only Class 2 scooters qualify, with a maximum width of 600mm, maximum length of 1,000mm, a turning radius of 1,200mm or less, and a combined scooter and user weight of 300kg or less.

Scooter Stated length × width Turning radius On paper
X05 98 × 49cm Not stated Within length and width limits; confirm turning radius
SwiftFold 95 × 50.5cm Not stated Within length and width limits; confirm turning radius
Easyfold 97 × 53cm Not stated Within length and width limits; confirm turning radius and class
FreeFold X Not stated Not stated Ask for dimensions

Fitting the size limits doesn't guarantee a permit: operators usually assess both the scooter and the rider.

The folding scooters in detail

Welzo FreeFold X: lightest four-wheel folder, and best for flying

Red Welzo FreeFold X four-wheel folding mobility scooter shown unfolded from the side

Why it's here: at a stated 16kg it is the lightest four-wheel scooter in this group, and its two-battery option makes it the most flexible for air travel.

Specification highlights (manufacturer): 16kg net weight, 120kg maximum load, 24V 270W brushless motor, 24V 6.6Ah lithium battery (standard) or two batteries (extended range option), 20–30km stated range, 8km/h top speed, faux leather seat, LED light, packaging size 35 × 53 × 76cm.

Which listing? The FreeFold X is sold on two Welzo pages with the same product code. The black FreeFold X page lists £899.99 with VAT relief (£1,079.98 without). The red FreeFold X page lists £999.99 (£1,199.98) for the standard battery in red or black, and £1,149.99 (£1,379.98) for the two-battery extended-range version. If you want one battery, compare both pages before ordering.

Advantages: the lowest stated weight here, four wheels, and a battery of about 158Wh. That figure matters: typical airline rules allow two removable lithium batteries of up to 160Wh each, so the two-battery version fits that allowance on paper, giving extra range on holiday without exceeding the limit.

Trade-offs: the pages don't say whether the 16kg includes the battery, and don't give a folded size. The spec tables state a 12-month warranty while other parts of the same pages state 60 months, and the red page gives a 14-day returns window where most Welzo pages give 30 days. The MSS listing for the same scooter states a 100kg user limit, the Welzo pages 120kg. The stated 8km/h (about 5mph) is above the 4mph pavement limit. A 20–30km range from about 158Wh is optimistic, so plan around the lower figure.

Consider it if: you want the lightest four-wheel folder here, or you fly and want a spare battery. Look elsewhere if: you need confirmed folded dimensions today, or you weigh close to 100kg and can't get the limit confirmed.

View the Welzo FreeFold X (black) · View the Welzo FreeFold X (red and two-battery option)

X05 folding scooter (MyMobility / Premium Lightweight): best for automatic folding on a budget

Red and black X05 folding mobility scooter with padded seat, armrests and four small wheels

Why it's here: it is the only scooter in this group offered with an automatic, push-button fold, and its manual version is the lowest-priced folding scooter here.

Which listing? The same scooter, shown with the same photographs and stated weight, is sold on two Welzo pages. The MyMobility page lists the manual version at £699.99 (£839.98 without VAT relief) and the automatic at £749.99 (£899.98). The Premium Lightweight page lists the red automatic at £796.79 (£956.15). On those figures, the automatic version is about £47 cheaper on the MyMobility page.

Specification highlights (Premium Lightweight page, with figures from the MSS listing where noted): 24kg including battery, removable 24V 10Ah lithium battery (2kg, MSS listing), 10–15km range, 0–6km/h speed, about 6 hours charging, 197 × 64mm solid tyres, 75mm ground clearance, key ignition, electromagnetic brakes, 98 × 49 × 94cm unfolded and 37 × 48 × 70cm folded (MSS listing), 120kg maximum load and 12° maximum climb (MSS listing).

X05 folding mobility scooter folded upright, standing on its wheels with the seat folded behind the tiller

Advantages: an automatic fold removes the fiddliest part of using a folding scooter, which matters if grip, bending or hand pain are the problem. The battery comes out, so the heaviest lift drops to about 22kg. The 0–6km/h speed on the Premium Lightweight page is within the 4mph pavement limit, and the unfolded size fits bus permit length and width limits.

Trade-offs: this is the heaviest scooter in the group, and an automatic fold doesn't help someone who can't lift 22kg into a boot. The two pages disagree significantly. The MyMobility page's spec table states up to 25km range, 0–15km/h speed, a 24V 10.4Ah battery with dual 250W motors, 10-inch front and 8-inch rear tyres with rear suspension, a carbon steel frame and a folded size of 77 × 57 × 52cm, against the Premium Lightweight page's 10–15km and 0–6km/h. A top speed of 15km/h (over 9mph) would take a scooter outside the legal classes altogether, so confirm which specification applies before ordering. It is pictured with four wheels (the front pair set close together), but one reviewer on the Premium Lightweight page describes their scooter as three-wheeled, so confirm the wheel layout too. Small solid tyres and 75mm of ground clearance suit smooth surfaces best.

Consider it if: folding by hand is the hard part and someone can lift about 22kg. Look elsewhere if: lifting is the hard part; a lighter manual folder or a dismantling scooter will suit better.

View the X05 on the MyMobility page · View the X05 on the Premium Lightweight page

Welzo SwiftFold: smallest stated fold and a stated 4mph limit

Why it's here: it has the smallest published folded size in this group and is the only one whose page states both a 4mph top speed and a separate battery weight.

Specification highlights (manufacturer): 16kg frame, 2kg battery, 120kg (19 stone) maximum user weight, 24V 10.4Ah lithium battery with an optional second battery slot, 10 miles stated range, 4mph maximum speed, 9° climbing ability, 95 × 50.5 × 88cm unfolded, folded 30 × 50 × 74cm, seat width 37cm, seat height to footwell 35cm, ground clearance 3.5 inches, 7-inch front and 8-inch rear solid tyres.

Advantages: a folded depth of just 30cm means it can stand against a wall or slide behind a car seat, and at about 111 litres it is the most compact fold with published dimensions here. The page says the battery can be charged on or off the scooter, suggesting it comes out, so the heaviest lift should be about 16kg. Its stated 4mph matches the Class 2 pavement limit.

Trade-offs: small solid tyres and 3.5 inches of ground clearance make it best on smooth pavements and indoors. A 37cm seat is narrow for some users. The page doesn't clearly state its own warranty. The optional second battery raises range but also the lifting weight and the watt-hours to declare when flying (two batteries of about 250Wh each would exceed the usual two-battery allowance of 160Wh each).

Consider it if: boot space or home storage is tight and your routes are mostly smooth. Look elsewhere if: you ride over broken paving or regular kerbs.

View the Welzo SwiftFold

Welzo Easyfold: larger wheels

Welzo Easyfold four-wheel folding mobility scooter in black with red frame accents

Why it's here: it has the largest tyres in this group, 9 inches front and rear. Larger wheels generally ride over cracks and small bumps more easily than the 7–8-inch wheels on most folding scooters.

Specification highlights (manufacturer): 18.6kg net weight without battery, 120kg maximum load, 24V 6.6Ah lithium battery, 200W motor, 18–25km range, adjustable 1–8km/h speed, ABS electromagnetic brake, 97 × 53 × 90cm overall, manual quick-fold, no suspension.

Advantages: bigger wheels are the main comfort advantage on a scooter this light. The battery works out at about 158Wh, under the 160Wh threshold for carrying two when flying.

Trade-offs: no folded size is published, so you can't check boot fit from the page. The spec table lists 9-inch pneumatic (air-filled) tyres, an 18.6kg weight and a 120kg limit, while images on the same page describe 9.5-inch flat-free tyres, a 19.5kg product weight and 150kg load-bearing, and one image shows a three-wheel version. Battery removability isn't stated. The adjustable speed goes above 4mph, so keep it at 4mph or below on pavements.

Consider it if: your routes include uneven paving and you can confirm the folded size, tyre type and weight before ordering. Look elsewhere if: the lifter is at the limit of their strength.

View the Welzo Easyfold

Manual or automatic folding?

Both formats fold as a single unit. The difference is what does the folding, and that changes the weight, the price and what can go wrong.

Factor Manual folding Automatic folding
How it folds By hand, via a lever or latch Motorised, by button or remote
Physical effort to fold Some bending and hand strength Very little
Weight Usually lighter, with no folding motor Usually heavier, because of the mechanism
Cost Lower Higher
Parts that can fail Hinge, latch Hinge, latch, motor, controller, remote
If it fails Usually still foldable with effort May be stuck folded or unfolded until repaired
Best for Keeping weight and price down Weak grip, painful bending, frequent folding

Automatic folders are often noticeably heavier. For example, an automatic Class 2 folder reviewed in Motability's independent test drives weighs 30.5kg. In this guide, the automatic X05 weighs 24kg with its battery, while the manual FreeFold X and SwiftFold are stated at 16kg.

Ask one question of any automatic model: is there a manual override? If the folding motor fails in a car park, you need to know whether the scooter can still be folded by hand, and how. Also check the remote's battery and whether a spare remote is available.

Folding or dismantling: which is easier to load?

A dismantling boot scooter separates into several pieces instead of folding. According to CareCo, most travel scooters break down into four to six parts, the heaviest usually being the main body or the batteries, and it suggests looking for a heaviest piece under 15kg if lifting is a concern.

That makes the choice fairly clear:

  • Choose a folding scooter if the lifter can manage the whole folded frame (roughly 16–22kg for the scooters in this guide) and you want to be ready to go in seconds.
  • Choose a dismantling scooter if no one can lift more than about 10–15kg, even though it takes longer to assemble at each end of a trip and needs some dexterity to line up the connectors.
  • Consider a boot hoist if neither suits; it can put heavier, more capable scooters within reach. See ramps, hoists and loading aids.

Our guide to folding vs travel scooters covers this decision in more depth, and travel and boot scooters covers the dismantling alternatives.

How to check a folding scooter will fit your car

Most "fits most car boots" claims are untested for your car. It takes ten minutes to check properly:

  1. Measure the opening, not the floor. Measure the width of the boot opening at its narrowest point (often between the light clusters) and the height from the boot lip to the top of the opening. A folded scooter is rigid and can't be angled around obstructions.
  2. Measure the floor. Measure the depth from the lip to the back of the rear seats and the width between the wheel arches.
  3. Measure the lip height. A high boot lip adds to the effort of every lift.
  4. Check the parcel shelf. Many hatchbacks need the shelf removed for a folded scooter to stand upright.
  5. Compare with the folded size. Allow a few centimetres of clearance on every side. If the page only gives a packaging size, ask for the folded size.
  6. Think about orientation. Some folded scooters travel standing on their wheels, others lying down. Ask which way the manufacturer recommends.

If you'll use more than one car, a relative's or a taxi, repeat the check for the smallest of them.

The weight figure most listings get away with

A significant number of folding scooter listings advertise a headline weight that excludes the battery. That isn't necessarily misleading if the battery is removable, because many people do lift the frame and battery separately. It becomes a problem when a buyer assumes the advertised number is what they'll lift in one go.

Before you buy, establish three figures: the scooter with the battery fitted, the scooter without the battery, and the battery on its own. Of the scooters here, only the SwiftFold page (16kg + 2kg) and the X05 MSS listing (24kg including a 2kg battery) give all three.

Then test that weight into your own boot. A weight held close to the body is very different from the same weight lifted at arm's length over a boot lip. If a carer or relative does the loading, their capability decides the purchase, not the user's. When lifting, keep the folded scooter close to your body, bend your knees rather than your back, avoid twisting, and rest one end on the boot lip before sliding it in.

Top speed and the law

In the UK, folding pavement scooters are Class 2. According to GOV.UK, a mobility scooter is usually class 2 if its maximum speed is 4mph or less, and class 3 if its maximum speed is 8mph; a vehicle that can go more than 8mph is not in a class at all and can only be used on the road. Whatever the class, the maximum speed on pavements is 4mph.

Class 3 scooters need front and rear lights, reflectors, indicators that work as hazard lights, a rear view mirror and a horn, and must be registered with the DVLA. None of the folding scooters here is presented as a road-going Class 3 model.

Two of the scooters here state top speeds of 8km/h (about 5mph), and one listing for the X05 states 0–15km/h. Before buying any folding scooter, ask the retailer in writing which class it is and whether its speed is limited to 4mph, and keep to 4mph on pavements. This also matters for buses, which generally accept only Class 2 scooters.

There's no licence or test for a Class 2 scooter, but GOV.UK says you should be able to read a car's registration number from 12.3 metres (40 feet), and you can be prosecuted if you have an accident because of poor eyesight. The Department for Transport also consulted until 31 March 2026 on updating the laws on powered mobility devices, so check GOV.UK for changes. See our guides to UK mobility scooter laws and whether you need a licence.

Buses and trains

A folding scooter can widen your options on public transport, but there's no automatic right to take one on board. Many bus operators follow the CPT code in the bus permit table above. First Bus, for example, says users must obtain prior approval and a permit for travel, covering both the scooter's design and the user's ability to control and manoeuvre it safely. Permits are typically free. Rail operators set their own policies on scooter size and weight, so contact the train company or use Passenger Assist before travelling, with your scooter's dimensions, weight and turning radius to hand.

Flying with a folding scooter

No folding scooter is universally "airline approved", whatever a listing says. Airlines assess the battery, not the folding mechanism, and the decision is theirs. Under typical airline rules, such as Ryanair's battery guidance, lithium batteries designed to be removed and carried in the cabin must not exceed one battery of 300Wh or two of 160Wh each, with terminals protected against short circuits.

On the published figures, every scooter here has a battery under 300Wh. The FreeFold X and Easyfold batteries (about 158Wh) sit just under the 160Wh figure, which is why the FreeFold X two-battery option fits the two-battery allowance. The SwiftFold and X05 batteries (about 240–250Wh) are fine as a single battery but too large to carry as a pair.

Before booking:

  • photograph the battery label showing its watt-hour rating (or volts and amp-hours);
  • ask the seller for a battery safety document confirming UN38.3 testing;
  • give the airline the make, model, folded size, weight and battery details when you book;
  • pack tape or terminal covers and a protective pouch for the battery.

The UK Civil Aviation Authority notes that compensation for damaged mobility equipment is often limited to around £1,300, so consider travel insurance that covers the scooter. More detail: flying with a mobility scooter.

Prices, VAT relief and warranties

VAT relief. The lower price on each Welzo listing applies only if you make a VAT relief declaration at checkout; otherwise you pay 20% more. VAT relief is for people who are chronically sick or disabled, buying for personal or domestic use. It does not cover someone who is older but not disabled or chronically sick, or someone only temporarily injured. A family member can buy on the user's behalf. If you're unsure, check GOV.UK guidance on VAT relief before signing.

Compare listings. Two of the scooters here are sold on more than one page at different prices, as described above. The same scooter can cost £47–£100 more on one page than another, so check both.

Warranty and returns. Warranty statements vary between and within pages: 12 months, 13 months and 60 months all appear for these models. Get the warranty for the frame, the battery and the folding mechanism confirmed in writing before you order, and check the returns window, which is 14 days on one listing here and 30 days on others.

Motability. If you receive a qualifying mobility allowance, such as the enhanced rate mobility component of PIP, you may be able to lease a scooter through an approved Motability dealer instead, with servicing, insurance and battery replacement included. The prices here are for outright purchase. See mobility scooter finance and mobility scooter grants for other options.

Looking after a folding scooter

A folding scooter's hinge and latch do more work than any part of a non-folding scooter. Follow the manufacturer's instructions, and as general good practice:

  • check the frame latch clicks fully home every time before you sit down;
  • keep hinges and latches clean and free of grit, and don't force a fold that sticks;
  • fold and unfold on level ground with the scooter switched off;
  • use only the supplied charger, charge somewhere with a working smoke alarm and away from escape routes, and stop using a battery that is swollen, damaged or unusually hot;
  • store the scooter somewhere dry, and if you won't use it for a while, keep the battery partly charged and top it up periodically.

See our battery guide and storage guide for more.

Who a folding scooter isn't for

A folding scooter is a compromise designed around transport and storage. It is probably the wrong choice if:

  • it will rarely leave home, in which case a mid-size pavement scooter usually gives more comfort, range and stability for similar money;
  • no one in the household can lift about 16kg or more, in which case a dismantling scooter or a hoist is the better route;
  • your routes are hilly, rural or rough; see all-terrain scooters;
  • you're close to or above the 100–120kg user limits here; see scooters with higher weight capacities;
  • you want to use the road, which needs a Class 3 scooter.

If balance, grip, vision, fatigue or a recent operation affects how you'd use or lift a scooter, an occupational therapist or your GP can help you decide what's safe, and hiring a scooter for a week shows whether a folding model suits you.

Before you buy: questions to put to the retailer

  • What is the weight with the battery fitted, and what does the battery weigh on its own?
  • What are the folded length, width and height (not the box size)?
  • Does it stand on its wheels and pull along when folded?
  • Which legal class is it, and is it limited to 4mph?
  • For an automatic fold: is there a manual override, and is a spare remote available?
  • What is the battery's watt-hour rating as printed on the battery, and is there a UN38.3 document?
  • What is the maximum kerb height and climbing gradient?
  • How long is the warranty on the frame, battery and folding mechanism?
  • What is the returns window if it doesn't fit your car?
  • Who services it, and how quickly are spare parts available?

For the wider process, see how to choose a mobility scooter and our lightweight mobility scooter guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best folding mobility scooter in the UK?

There isn't one best folding scooter for everyone. The right choice is the lightest model whose heaviest lift your household can manage, whose folded size fits your boot opening, and which is limited to 4mph for pavements. Of the Welzo models we compared, the FreeFold X is the lightest four-wheel option, the X05 offers automatic folding, the SwiftFold folds smallest and the Easyfold has the largest wheels.

How much does a folding mobility scooter weigh?

The folding scooters in this guide are stated at 16–24kg. Always check whether the figure includes the battery: the SwiftFold is 16kg plus a 2kg battery, while the X05's 24kg includes its 2kg battery. If the battery is removable, the heaviest lift is the frame alone.

Are automatic folding mobility scooters worth it?

They are worth it if folding by hand is the difficult part, for example because of weak grip or painful bending. They are usually heavier and more expensive than manual folders and have more parts that can fail, so they don't help if lifting is the problem. Check there is a manual override in case the motor fails.

Will a folding mobility scooter fit in my car boot?

Only if its folded dimensions fit your boot opening at its narrowest point, not just the boot floor. Measure the opening width and height, the floor depth and the lip height, and compare them with the folded size, not the packaging size. Some listings don't publish a folded size, so ask before buying.

Are folding mobility scooters road legal?

Folding scooters are generally Class 2 pavement scooters, not road-going Class 3 models, which need lights, indicators, a mirror, a horn and DVLA registration. On pavements, all mobility scooters must not exceed 4mph. Some folding scooters list top speeds above 4mph, so confirm the legal class before buying.

Can I take a folding mobility scooter on a plane?

Possibly, but the airline decides. Removable lithium batteries are generally limited to one of up to 300Wh or two of up to 160Wh each, carried in the cabin with terminals protected. All the batteries here calculate to under 300Wh, but check the printed rating and contact your airline before booking.

Can I take a folding mobility scooter on a bus?

Often, if it's a Class 2 scooter within the operator's size limits and you hold a permit. Many operators follow a code limiting scooters to 1,000mm long, 600mm wide and a 1,200mm turning radius, with scooter and user together under 300kg. Operators usually assess the scooter and the rider before issuing a free permit.

Is a folding or a dismantling scooter better?

A folding scooter is faster to set up but is lifted in one piece, typically 16–22kg for the models here. A dismantling scooter splits into several lighter pieces, often with the heaviest under 15kg, but takes longer to assemble. Choose by the heaviest weight the lifter can manage repeatedly.

Why are there two prices on each scooter?

The lower price applies if you're eligible for VAT relief and sign a declaration at checkout; the higher price includes VAT. Eligibility depends on a long-term illness or disability that substantially affects everyday life, not age alone.

Which one should you look at first?

If lifting weight is your priority and you want four wheels, start with the FreeFold X, and choose the two-battery version if you fly. If folding by hand is the problem and someone can lift about 22kg, look at the automatic X05. If space is tight, the SwiftFold has the smallest stated fold. If uneven paving is your main concern, the Easyfold's larger wheels are its stand-out feature.

Browse all folding mobility scooters or car boot scooters, or compare formats in our guides to the different types of mobility scooter and the best mobility scooters in the UK.

Sources

Previous Post Next Post
Welcome to our store
Welcome to our store
Welcome to our store